Skip to main content



     The Bergman Alumni Tri-annual Reunion was held on October 11th, 2014 in Old Main at the school. The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance followed by the singing of the National Anthem by Braelen Hunt, a 2015 senior. The Invocation was given by Teresia Sharp, alumni president. Mr. Joe Couch, Bergman Superintendent, gave the welcome and an update on the school progress for the past three years.  Record enrollment for Bergman this year is 1135. The number of graduates that have received diplomas since Bergman School was consolidated in 1929 are 2650. The smallest class to graduate was 1931 with 2 and the largest of 86 was the class of 2013. With the recent purchase of additional acreage the campus now has a total of 121 acres.

    A  Distinguished Educator Award was presented to Ann Tabor in recognition of her service at Bergman. Former students Linda Blevins Pledger, Joyce Edwards Rose, and Melba Sharp Kansaki were present to give comments and recognition of Mrs. Tabor as their Home Economics teacher. Mrs. Tabor taught for 38 years, all of them at Bergman, but has recently retired. A Distinguished Staff Award was also presented to Sharon Taylor for her 35 years of service, working in the high school office. Sharon has also recently retired.

     Miss Sharp and Dorothy Blevins, secretary/treasurer, gave recognition to all current/past faculty, board members, cooks, bus drivers and other support staff. A count and recognition of all classes was taken. The class of 1959 had the most graduates present with 9. The graduate representing the earliest class was Hoyt Davidson, from the class of 1938. The graduates traveling the farthest were Otheta Breece Wood, class of 1947, from Santa Monica, CA and Fred Breece, class of 1956, from Riverside, CA. Recognition was also given to families that had several family members present. Roberts family had 13 first cousins present, Marshall, Blevins, and Breece families were recognized also.

     A short business meeting was held. The treasure’s report was given by Dorothy Blevins with mention of the recipients of the scholarships presented since we last met, 2011-April Gregory, 2012-Brandi Devore, 2013-Emily Powers, and 2014-Hunter Barnard. New officers elected for the next reunion were, Sandra Todd and Donita Powers. The date for the next reunion will be October 14, 2017.

     The meeting closed with the benediction given by Harlan Sharp, a 1960 graduate. Appreciation is expressed to the NHS and advisor, Mr. Hendrix, East Class, KHOZ, Harrison Daily Times, Mrs. Todd, cafeteria, custodians, and volunteers for all their help.